Going to see Il Trovatore tomorrow. Any pointers for an opera newbie?

Well, the weekend’s finally arrived. Tomorrow night we go to see this production of Verdi’s Il Trovatore. While I am new to opera, I have, over recent years, found that I am increasingly receptive to the form.

I already bought the music online and am listening to it. It meets my expectations, to say the least. I’m eagerly anticipating tomorrow night, when we’ll see and hear it performed live. Those of you who are more experienced with opera generally, or this opera particularly, or with the singers listed for this production specifically, can you give me any pointers? Any particular things I should watch and listen for?

My best advice would be to read the synopsis beforehand (handily, there’s one on the page you linked to). It’s like seeing a Shakespeare play for the first time - it’s possible to follow the plot straight off, but you certainly wouldn’t get the subtleties and nuances. That page also mentions that they use ‘supertitles’ - subtitles, but on a display up above the stage. It sounds like this would be distracting, or confusing, but in fact they’re very very helpful, particular for newbies :slight_smile:

Oh, on rereading your post, you’re already listening to it… :smack: Anyway, my comments still kind-of apply :smiley:

Other than that, enjoy it!!!
( green with envy )

I certainly will. I note also that they offer pre-performance lectures, but we’ll be having our dinner at that time…McCormick&Schmick’s if you know the States. Good, good seafood.

Not an opera fan myself.

My trouble with it, is that, having been both an actor and a musician, I fing most examples to be a poor marriage of the two forms. It is very much a musical style that happens to require sets and costumes, as opposed to a theatrical style saturated by music.