Good Book on Basic Circuit Design

I want to learn how to make basic electronic circuits and follow circuit diagrams. For example, I want to be able to look at this and understand what’s going on. My background is in computer science and math. Does anyone have any good reccomendations for introductory books on this topic?

The Art of Electronics, by Horowitz and Hill, is a classic and far and away my favorite general circuits book. It’s somewhat dated in the digital-electronics sections but still very valuable for the sort of circuit you referenced. It’s a very different presentation from the usual algebra-heavy analyses of most undergraduate EE circuit texts, with lots of useful examples (and counterexamples!) so you might want to look at one of those as well.

“The Art of Electronics” by Horowitz and Hill is a bit advanced in places for a novice, but if you want to pick just one book, that would be my choice. I’m thinking that with your background, and maybe some poking around on the net when you get stuck, that you wouldn’t need much else.

The newsgroup sci.electronics.basics is a good resource when you do get stuck.

… and I see that someone else with faster fingers has the same recommendation.

Thanks for the suggestions, guys. Amazon just made $75.00. :eek:

At least it will look nice next to Art of Computer Programming. :slight_smile:

I know you’ve already ordered the book, friedo, but I’m going to chime in and add that IMHO it’ll be one of the best uses of $75 you can make if you’re interested in circuit design.

To add some new content to this post, I’ll also add that Winfield Hill, one of the book’s authors, is very active answering questions on sci.electronics.basics and sci.electronics.design. He is always very helpful and modest for someone who literally “wrote the book”.

The transformer has a primary winding and a center-tapped secondary winding. It efficiently reduces the AC voltage to a level that’s more “usable.” It also provides isolation.