Got an email from my old boss

Three years ago, Dr. G gave me a big break. He hired me as a research assistant even though I didn’t have a BS yet. (I was an animal care tech with two years experience and had been going to school part-time.) I was thrilled.

Over the years, I learned a lot by working with Dr. G and his staff: PCR, Western Blotting, flow cytometry, etc. Also, over this period of time Dr. G and I had our differences. The pathology images I made of the mice we worked with were used in several poster presentations and a couple of journal drafts. I was never listed as an author on these projects because I lacked a degree. Ordering supplies and keeping track of our budget was my responsibilty; these are the duties of a lab manager but I was never given the title or the pay. (Another “sorry you don’t have a BS” moment.) Managing our colony of mice was another thing I did. Since the academic fellows and the other phd did not like to do the “grunt work”, I harvested tissues and blood for their experiments.

Last September, Dr. G and I had a disaggrement about an experiment. I’ll won’t go into details, but I thought the project was poorly thought out and cruel. Dr. G went ahead with the experiment, I refused to assist and started to look for another job.

In October, I found a new with another lab and I gave my notice. On the day I was supposed to start with the new lab, Dr. G called my boss-to-be if I could work with him another week because there was “to much for everybody to learn.” I was pissed that Dr. G cheated my out of a week’s pay at a much high rate. :mad:

To day I got an email from Dr. G. He needs my signature on some forms for an antibody his lab developed - I was listed on the protocol.

Well, going to give my autograph is going to be awkward as hell for me.

sigh