Grad School: A Fresh Start?

I tried searching on this, but of course it timed out, then said I have to wait five minutes before trying again. :rolleyes: Google wasn’t much help either.

Anyhow… a couple of months ago I earned my degree, after screwing around in college, on and off, for almost 20 years. When I was younger, I didn’t care much about my grades, and made many stupid decisions, resulting in a low GPA.

Since my return to college four years ago, I’ve earned all A’s and B’s. My current GPA at my university is 3.55, but my overall GPA is 2.48. Yuck.

In the fall I’m starting on my Master’s. My question is: do I get to start over with my GPA, or will it still be cumulative?

I think each degree is separate and should have its own GPA.

This said, however, I did all of my degrees at different universities and had no carry-over from previous schools so my opinion may be invalid.

GESancMan,

I am just giving this a little more thought and I am wondering how it can possibly be cumulative.

Your undergraduate degree should be a qualification unique in and of itself and possibly graded by “honours”, “pass” or other status.

This should be a factor in your acceptance into postgraduate studies.

I only screwed around in college for four years but my grades were much, much better the last few semesters. Then I went to grad school.

When I get my transcript, it shows only my cumulative average for the graduate degree. Ii suppose if I got my transcript from one of my undergrad colleges (I went to three of them) it would give just what I’d earned up to there–in other words, the one where I earned my BA would relate the whole sorry tale from the previous colleges and it would look like I just hadn’t found the right fit, yet. But the grad school grades were pretty good, so I don’t even bother with the undergrad transcripts. Frankly I very rarely need the grad transcript, either.