Grad School Problem -- Please Help!

I have a problem with my grad school – a big one.

I’m enrolled in an MBA program in a well-known New York University (no, not NYU). My major is Information Systems and I’m currently finishing up my first semester.

I had been considering taking a second major since before I even enrolled (an option the college allows). However, I wasn’t certain which secondary major I wanted to take, so I didn’t declare it right away. This isn’t a problem at the school – you can change your major after enrollment.

Having taken some time during the semester to look through the school catalog and speak to some people, I figured that a major in Operations Management would be just the thing. The courses look interesting, it’s something I can see myself being involved in for the next twenty years or so, and it is a good fit/compliment for the IS courses.

However, when I went to register for the courses for the Fall Semester, I found that none of them were being offered. A check of the (current) Spring semester and the summer semesters shows that the Management Science courses necessary for this major weren’t being offered either.

I spoke to someone in Acedemic Advisement, and they informed me that due to a lack of demand the courses were discontinued quite a while ago. Needless to say, this came as a big surprise to me – it’s still in the school’s catalog, and the school’s website still shows the major and courses. I emailed the Chairman of the Operations Deptartment. Here was his response:

To be honest, I’m more than a bit annoyed. Had I known that the Management courses weren’t going to be available, I might have selected a different school. True, I didn’t ask at the time of enrollment if the program was available, but you’d think that if it’s on the school’s website and in the catalog, then it should be available!