Graduating high school a year early?

I see some top BB recruits graduate HS a year early. How does that happen? Extra classes online? I can see graduating in Dec. if the school uses the block system where each class is 1 semester. But 2 semesters early?

My brother did it in the 70s. Just took extra classes (no study halls?). I don’t recall exactly. He finished college in three years too. Always in a hurry.

From Wikipedia:

As I recall, they technically don’t graduate high school early; they simply start college early. I think the high school accepts credit for the college courses, and the students graduate high school at the end of their college freshman year.

I graduated high school in three years, though I was certainly not a sports phenom. I took summer classes to make that happen.

Our school system required 20 credits to graduate. You had the option to take up to 6 credits per year. Most students took 5 credits plus a study hall each year. I took 6 each year for 3 years plus 2 credits in summer classes.

More than a few of these kids are 1 and done in college to go to the NBA at 18 or 19.

In many states, the only class you have to have 4 years of is English, but you can double up one year or go to summer school. Generally the number of classes you need to graduate is pretty easy to achieve, if you want to. However, it’s fairly rare simply because there’s usually no advantage to it: going to college at 16/17 would suck, and if you want to get into a good college, or get a good scholarship, you need the extra year’s worth of stuff to be an attractive candidate. Other post-HS paths also really need you to be a legal adult, or close to it: the military, trade schools, etc, are set up with the idea that people involved can make decisions and sign contracts like an adult.