Did your university student want to go to summer school ?

A few weeks ago while we were on home leave, Miss DrumBum told us that she wanted to take a couple of classes over the summer. It wasn’t a matter of repeating a class she got poor marks in, but rather, a desire to get a core class out of the way. Adding to our surprise was that the class was not a required elective but instead, Biochemistry and a lab. She knew several other classmates talking classes as well so with equal parts pride and astonishment, we wrote a couple of checks and bid her goodbye.

When I was an undergrad ( mid 80’s ) we went home, gave mom a pile of dirty clothes, and hit the road. Some got jobs or went on a family trip but I don’t recall any of my friends taking classes over the summer. According to Miss DrumBum, occupying ones summer in this manner is quite common amongst her circle of friends since they can finish their degrees early and save the parents money.

So count me as quite surprised that our daughter and her friends are not like her slacker dad. :slight_smile:

My parents took classes over the summer and so did I. Slacking off over the summer was completely unacceptable, and none of us were in a position where we needed to work full time. At the university I went to, I could get three credit hours out of the way during the short May semester and 6-9 more during the regular summer session. Campus had a fun relaxed vibe, I liked it.

Mine aren’t college age, but I took courses in the summer most summers - and when I went back as an adult for a different degree, went year rounds to finish quickly.

Because college is now a five or six year deal for a lot of students, summer courses make a lot of sense for those that are serious.

I took a full load every semester including summers, graduated early and then hit the road.

And I’ve come back to second the “fun relaxed vibe” - summer session courses were usually a little easier than the regular term counterparts.