Grammar and writing types: A question about prepositions. Answer needed soonest, please!

I’m in the process of collaborating on a paper, and one of my groupmates said there is a rule against starting a sentence with a preposition. I know it’s generally considered bad form to end a sentence with a preposition, but I am not aware of any rule against starting a sentence with one.

Help, please?

Thanks!

I am no expert by any means, but I think it can be proper to start a sentence with a preposition.

“With economic times the way they are, it might be prudent not to buy a home at this time.”
I see nothing wrong with the above sentence, and correct me if I am wrong, “with” is a preposition in this case.

“Of course, there’s always other options.”

In order to form a more perfect union, such idiotic “rules” were invented. In any event, it makes no sense. At the least, you could write several consecutive sentences beginning with prepositions. With no trouble, you could do so. From these sentences you can see yourself how silly such a rule would be.

No such rule at all. It’s not even considered bad form.

People get all sorts of strange ideas about English.

Thanks, everyone! I was pretty sure I was right, but it’s nice to have confirmation.

In other words, you agree with Churchill that such rules are the sort of impertinence up with which you will not put? :smiley:

There’s no rule. There’s a common perception that all sentences need to be short and in active voice, and leading with a prepositional phrase makes that harder to do. But if all sentences were short and in active voice, you’d be writing a Mickey Spillane detective novel, not a paper.

In fact, it does not.

To hell with such rules!

You may also end sentences with prepositions:

“She didn’t understand what he was complaining about. His written language usually followed the very rules that he crusaded against.”

“Cuddy wondered what Wilson was up to.”

Just don’t tack on unnecessary prepositions: