Grammar (style?) questions for writing fiction

I’m a writer of short stories, and short stories tend to call for dialogue. There something I’ve always been unsure how to handle: a character’s thoughts. How should they be indicated?

Should they be formatted/punctuated just like regular speech, except with the word “thought” instead of “said”? Like so:

“I wonder where Betty is,” thought Joe.

Or - and this is how I’ve been doing it - should the thoughts be italicized like so:

I wonder where Betty is.

The key difference here is that I don’t usually like to include the “thought Joe” part. I tend to write in such a way that the character is thinking to him/herself while doing something else, like this:

She noticed Richard averting his eyes as she faced him. *Why did he do that? He never looked away before… *

The main reason I italicize the characters’ thoughts is that I want to visually differentiate between thoughts and spoken words. So which way is correct? Or is there another way?

There is no one correct way.

1. “I wonder where Ruth is,” thought Nick.
  2. I wonder where Ruth is.
  3. I wonder where Ruth is, thought Nick.

The important thing is to be consistent. Do it one way throughout. Also, example #1 can help eliminate confusion in some circumstances.

Judging by the example you gave, italics should work fine.

Also, remember: it won’t make or break your story. If the editor likes the story but not the technique, she may suggest a different option. Your story won’t be rejected based on how you do this.

I think a bigger problem is when the writer switches from 3rd person to 1st person. In your example it’s quite clear that Nick is saying a line - he just doesn’t speak out loud.