Great ape in South America?

Had on Arthur Clarke’s show, “Into the Unknown,” but wasn’t paying strict attention. The show was about weird animals like Tasmanian tigers and some kind of striped cheetah - and then they had a story of four survivors of a European expedition into the SA jungle (up a river, but not the Amazon). One of the four, a Swiss geologist, carried a photo of a large but very odd looking ape, propped up on a packing crate. A French scientist declared it was a genuine discovery, an English one declared it to be a fake.

The question is - what was the name given to this ape? It sounded like “Loyce’s.” I’ve tried the Dicovery site, and various searches on variants of “loyce” but no luck. Any help?

I’m not really a gorilla - I’m a librarian in a skin.

Official Poster of the Millenium

That’s an oooooold picture, once claimed to be ‘The Missing Link’ bla bla bla. Can’t help you on the name, but it looks like a variant of a Spider Monkey.

-PIGEONMAN-
Hero For A New Millennium!

The Legend Of PigeonMan - updates every Wed & Sat. If I can be bothered.

Could this be what you’re looking for?

LORIS: Also called slender loris, a small, slender, tailless, large-eyed, nocturnal lemur of southern India and Sri Lanka. (Not from South America, and not large, but hey, you did say you weren’t paying close attention…)

“I’m not sure who’s watching TV these days, but they’re not getting any smarter.”

Noriega, of course.

I don’t think it’s a loris, but it might be the Lorax. It’s only a matter of time before someone stumbles across a pride of cats in hats.