Gunning down suspected arms runners in Iraq.

Tonight on ABC’s World News Tonight Peter Jennings showed an american helicopter shoot and kill three people they thought probably were transporting arms. The film was from a gun camera on the aircraft, and was obviously ok’d by the military. Audio and video appeared to be uncensored.
First, after getting permission, they gunned down two people who seemed to be running back and forth, then they went back to the first target and gunned down a person who was wounded (they said so) and appeared to be climbing out from under a truck.
I usually try not to second-guess the lower level military in their actions, but I can’t resolve in my mind why this situation wasn’t handled differently. Like maybe taking prisoners?
I’m not a combat veteran, but I am a Vietnam era vet (amphibious navy), and I’ve seen combat first hand, though from a safe distance. I ferried, supported, and lived with 900+ combat Marines for nearly three years.
Let me restate;
They killed three people, without warning or chance of surrender, because they thought those people probably were transporting weapons.
I hope I find out I’m way off-base on this issue.
Peace,
mangeorge

Well, in light of the numbers of helicopters that have been shot down, I wouldn’t be surprised if military people in a helicopter thought it would be a better idea to just shoot anyone on the ground who might be armed and who might conceivably be thinking of blowing up their helicopter, instead of electing to land and attempt to capture them, thereby making their helicopter the proverbial sitting duck.

April 2003.
http://www.cnn.com/2003/WORLD/meast/04/02/sprj.irq.war.main/

June and October 2003. Three incidents.
http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,102449,00.html

November, 2003. Two incidents.
http://www.cnn.com/2003/WORLD/meast/11/02/sprj.irq.main/
http://www.cnn.com/2003/WORLD/meast/11/15/sprj.irq.crash/

January 2004.
http://www.cnn.com/2004/WORLD/meast/01/02/sprj.nirq.main/