Guns in Canada (Trailer Park Boys)

So as an American I’m under the impression that Canada is a Land Without Guns. I think I even saw a Canadian poster here say recently “I’m from Canada so I’ve never even SEEN a gun!”

But yet on the show “Trailer Park Boys” they are at no loss for guns. Handguns especially, but I’ve spotted some bigger ones too.

Of course no one can actually hit any targets, and the one dude keeps getting shot but never seriously hurt. But they are in several scenes in every episode I’ve seen so far.

So why does this deliciously Canadian show have a bunch of gun-toting rednecks (and gangstas…and little girls…) if there’s no guns in Canada? Purely a farce?

People have guns in Canada! It’s just not allowed, that’s all.

Certainly there are guns in Canada; they just come from the US! :stuck_out_tongue:

Seriously, I’m not an expert on this, but I hear that hunting rifles and shotguns are no problem except for a criminal-record check and some other delays. Handguns are more restricted, and you might as well forget a carry permit.

Somebody who knows the details will be along soon, I’m sure.

Oops I meant to specify in my OP that I realize guns are ALLOWED in Canada, I just didn’t realize people kept them at home and shot them off in the middle of the street with such regularity as I see in Trailer Park Boys.

I’m sure this is not the NORM for Canada (as it’s not really for the US - mostly) but it did strike me as odd to see guns such a prominent part of a huge Canadian show since it’s not unusual for Canadians (around the SDMB) to point out how there’s so few guns in Canada.