Has anyone been to Sao Paulo, Brazil?

I’m a college student and I’m visiting my dad (who’s working there) for Christmas break. I’ll be spending Christmas Day and probably spend a bit less than 3 weeks there total. Reading around I get the impression Rio de Janeiro is the real place to be in Brazil and Sao Paulo is more of the big dirty industrial city. I’m concerned about transportation since I get the impression Sao Paulo is also pretty dangerous and my Portuguese is basically nonexistent, though I can speak a little bit of Spanish, which will help hopefully.

So what is there to do in Sao Paulo? How do you get around? Any other places of interest near the city as well? Where I’m staying is pretty close to center of the city so I’d be interested in knowing if are there any English speaking bars or pubs around. This will probably be my only chance to see Brazil so any information is appreciated. :slight_smile:

They speak Portuguese in Brazil. Some people have told me it’s similar enough to get by, but if you only know a little Spanish you might be in trouble.

Do yourself a HUGE favor and pick up Lonely Planet’s Brazil guide. The maps of Sao Paulo alone made it worth it.
Crime: It’s the biggest city in South America. It has crime, but not as bad as Rio. Just don’t wear anything flashy (like a necklace or a watch). Have a minimal amount of cash on you.
Eating: good pizza, GREAT japanese food (in Liberdade), fantastic clubs and bars. Everyone is down at the beach though after Dec 15th until February.
Remember that they are VERY cosmopolitan. Learn a few key words (Por Favor, Obrigado, Cerveja), and try to make yourself understood with a dictionary. A large part of the population can speak some English, but it’s nicer if you try to make some effort. Enjoy yourself!