Has anyone created a will own their own, without a lawyer?

I need to create a simple will so my property goes to the right person upon my death. Has anyone done this online, without an expensive lawyer? I know it varies from state-to-state, but I am looking for opinions…

I have not and of course not a lawyer, but I wouldn’t think you would need a lawyer if you have a relatively uncomplicated estate. If you are married and trying to leave stuff to someone else, you might get into some issues, but if you’re single and just want your stuff to go to your best friend and there are no shared assets, two witnesses and a piece of paper are about all you need from what I understand.

I used Legalzoom.com when I was last single. My current wife and I used an attorney to update our wills, the attorney thought my will was very well done compared to my wife’s. She used an attorney she found on Craigslist.

I am a lawyer and can say that self-propagated wills are unusual. Not wrong or bad. But rare.

In my own practise we charged nothing for a will for an existing client. For other people $100-250. That is cheap given most of us have at least $50,000 in assets when we die. It is surprising how it all adds up.

The problem with doing it yourself is you can overlook things.

“My house to my sister. The remaining estate to my brother.”

What about the share certificate in the house? By law that also goes to the sister. But that is not what you wanted.

I remember tracing a share certificate to an English company in 1948. It wasn’t worth much then but by 2000 it was very valuable. Without a will and a lawyer to track things down, this would have simply disappeared. Nobody would know to claim it.

Thanks for the info. It’s not so much just the expense of it as it is the difficulty in finding a good lawyer. I’ve been down that road before and it’s not easy. And I’m in NYC — the land of lawyers —which actually makes it harder. So I figured I would just use software instead, if I can.