Have You Been Delusional?

what was it like?

Related thread that may be of interest -

What’s it like being seriously nuts

Define “delusional”, please?

honestly curious

i do not mean depression or anxiety.

Well, I don’t have much time to reply, since my spaceship to Zoltan 5 awaits, but I have a pronouncement to make.

And as newly elected King of Asia, I shall use my new position to execute all those who have distressed my fellow Dopers in the Pit.

So fear not, for I shall save the day.

About the time I went through puberty, I was pretty sure for a while that I was in an artificial environment, and I was being observed by (I didn’t know who) while they threw new troubles and humiliation at me every day. I felt hugely resentful about it. This was long before The Truman Show, by the way. I don’t remember why I stopped thinking that way, but the illusion didn’t last long.

As a former psych nurse I have seen plenty of delusional people and would have thought that it was impossible for the average person to be truly delusional except for one experience.

One morning I woke up from a really, really realistic dream in which I was a master criminal on the run from the law. As I got dressed and had breakfast my thoughts were consumed with what I would do when the police came around. When the thought popped into my head “they’ll never take me alive” I suddenly realised that my whole demeanour was based on a dream - no one was after me at all, I was just an ordinary suburban guy. It was very very unsettling and I can still recall feeling like the criminal - it seemed 100% real.

You are going to join our ranks and shell out the fee, are you not, Keapon Laffin? I, for one, welcome our King of Asia Overlords.
Yous funny.

Kinda. I’ve been diagnosed as bipolar, was on meds for a short while, finally decided that the drugs were making things worse, stopped taking them, found a counseler who actually helped, and am more or less fine now.