Have you ever been inside a nuclear reactor?

I’m curious how many people in general have actually been inside a nuclear reactor.

I was at Mizzou for a conference once, and being with a group of physicists, someone knew someone and got us a tour of the research reactor there. I’m not an engineer and I don’t remember the exact parts we went through, but we saw large pools of water illuminated by Cherenkov radiation. Very beautiful!

Anyone else been inside a reactor? Or want to see one? (Please stick to personal experiences and keep politics out of this thread.)

MrWhatsit and I visited the site of Experimental Breeder Reactor 1 (EBR-1) while on a road trip once. It was quite interesting, although I didn’t know nearly as much about how reactors work then as I do now, so I’d sort of like to go back and visit again sometime.

I haven’t, though I think it would be interesting.

My cousin spent one summer during college working at a nuclear plant, doing maintenance (including working near the pool full of spent fuel rods). As I remember, it paid quite well for manual labor, due to the (low but not nonexistent) risk. This is the same cousin who spent another summer inside smokestacks at a paper plant, replacing coal-smoke-scrubber filters.

I haven’t been INSIDE a reactor, but I’ve stood within feet of several reactors on US Navy vessels. Like, pressed my nose up against the little window through which one can see the containment structure for the reactor. It wasn’t thrilling.

Imagine if someone told you, “Look at this refrigerator. Inside there is an amazing creature – half unicorn, half octopus! Just stand here in complete wonderment that such an awesome beast is encased in that structure, completely out of your view… but only steps away from you!!” But really, all you see is a refrigerator. That’s what it was like. Hard to get worked up about.