Have you ever gone to a live podcast taping?

I went to one last night, for a podcast I’ve been listening to regularly since 2021. They’re on tour now, in the US. Another podcast I listen to on occasion just announced their European tour (they’re US-based and cover US-based TV). I also happened to read an article yesterday from 2023 about a “PodLoft” experience in Brooklyn for a podcast “My Favorite Murder.”

I think it’s kind of crazy but also fascinating and wonderful. In the article they talked about an online community for one of the podcasts. I’m part of “my” podcast’s Facebook group, which is more like a community in that we don’t just talk about the podcast or the related shows. Others have Discord channels and active Patreon comments, I’m sure with active community vibes. And more podcasts than you think seem to do live shows.

Being that podcasts are generally free* and bountiful, have you ever spent the money and taken the time to go to a live show of any of your favorite podcasts? Would you?

*FWIW I do pay $8/mo to be on my podcast’s ad-free and extra content tier. I’m invested.

Yep, my first introduction to the world of comedy podcasts was a friend taking me to a live taping of Never Not Funny (which I was very confused by the idea of a live podcast).

Since then I’ve been to:
Doug Loves Movies
How Did This Get Made?
Jordan Jessie Go
Thrilling Adventure Hour
Doughboys (Twice)

I went to a recording of No Such Thing as a Fish in Boston several years ago. It’s done by some of the writers of QI; their first U.S. tour, and I don’t know if they’ve done another since.

I’ve also been to a couple shows by Helen Zaltzman, host of The Allusionist, but I don’t think they were recorded to be podcasts, just stand-alone shows.

I once went to a screening of a Kevin Smith movie which was followed by a live recording session for Jay and Silent Bob Get Old. It was pretty fun.