Have you studied journalism?

I’m really interested in hearing from anyone who studied journalism: how much time did you spend studying business and financial reporting? I realize it’s not glamorous but ever since I’ve left the financial industry, I’ve found it maddening how poorly most stories are written. Would it be unusual for someone to do a double major in business/economics and journalism? I know there are options for a joint major in journalism and political science.

I got a master’s degree in journalism, and spent exactly zero time studying financial or business oriented writing. There may have been separate classes for that topic specifically, dunno for sure.

You can double major in whatever the hell two subjects you want. You get your degree(s) based purely on credit hours, so if you’ve got enough credit hours to earn a degree in “X” that has no bearing on whether or not you meet the credit hours required for “Y” degree.

However, that’s undergrad. I’m not aware of many folks who doubled up their graduate-level degrees.

I got a BA in journalism from Kent State from 97-2001. We had to take macro and micro economics and statistics, those were the only business classes we had to take from the school of business. They were particularly hard for me, as I went into journalism partly to avoid math.

At Kent, at least when I went, they emphasized their very well-rounded course load for journalism students. I had to take astronomy, US & world history, anthropology, art history, some classes like “The African American Experience” and a foreign language. I had maybe 1 or 2 journalism-specific classes per semester.