Hay Fever

Hay fever season is now in full effect and its driving me insane. I get itchy eyes, scratchy throat, stuffed up nose and sneeze quite a bit. Why must I have to put up with these allergies?? Are there any good ways to prevent having to deal with the allergic reactions to hay fever? What kinds of medicine work best? I use dimetapp before I go to bed since it has that good drowsy effect to it. What should I take during the day that I can get OTC?

Okay, I’m not a doctor (I don’t even play one on tv), but as someone in the same boat, let me tell you what worked for me . . .

Prescription medication.

Allegra, to be exact.

Made a WORLD of difference.

Yeah, it’s a pain to go to the doctor . . . costs some money . . . but the doctor can check you out to make sure this is a true hay fever and not some underlying condition or infection.

Infection, you say? But I’m not sick! It’s possible to have a low-grade sinus infection . . . or something respiratory . . . or even an infection in your teeth or gums . . . that mimic hay fever symptoms.

Only a doctor can tell you these things . . . and only a doctor can write a prescription.

There’s all sorts of helpful drugs on the market now for hay fever symptoms, such as Allegra, Claritin, Xyrtec. Ask your doctor if they have any samples that you can try before you commit to any one, find the one that works best for you. (In my case, it was Allegra, but I got big fistfuls of both Allegra and Claritin to try out before I actually went out and bought any.)

There’s really nothing over the counter that’s going to work as well as these drugs do . . . especially with no side effects like drowsiness, or contrarily, agitation and jitters.

I have some miseries spring and fall, so I understand what you’re going through, and I sympathize.

your humble TubaDiva
AH–CHOO!