Help me be a good boss

I’m a tutor. I go house to house in some of the suburbs of NYC, visiting students where they live.

Business has been good, so I’ve hired someone to help me with (and, at some point, hopefully, take over) my scheduling.

My new scheduler is a virtual assistant who lives in Colorado. She has a lot of experience in many different types of customer service and calendar maintenance. Her communication skills are terrific, and her husband is a truck driver, so she understands planning routes in order to maximize results and minimize transit. On top of all of that, she’s a mom, with a busy household calendar, so she’ll understand the parents’ concerns when they’re trying to work out a tutoring schedule.

I’m really excited to have her, and I think this could work out beautifully. While I’m waiting for my lawyer to draw up a non-disclosure agreement (everything about my families is confidential), I’ve been thinking about how to be a good boss.

So far, I’ve come up with:

1. Be clear about what my scheduler’s job is, and what I want and don’t want her to do. Ultimately, she’s helping me build relationships with these families. I’m OK paying for extra time she spends on the phone chit-chatting and building rapport with parents, or if it takes a few email or text exchanges to make a family really happy with the scheduling they get. Customer satisfaction is more important than expedience to me, even though I’m paying by the hour.

2. Suggest ways for her to do things, but don’t insist that she do things exactly my way. If she can think of a better way to do something, I’d love to hear it. (I’m hiring her for customer service skills that I might not have. If she knows of a way to handle scheduling that would make this a zillion times better, I’d be happy to adopt it. But I have to know what it is she wants to do, so that both she and I know exactly what the schedule looks like at any given time.)