Help me be a good teacher!

Hello everybody!

I have to teach for the first time in my life and I’m freaking out!

I’m gonna teach immunology to 3rd year medical students. Actually, I think I’m going to be some sorts of TA. I graduated last year from medical school, and my problem is that I’m… kinda… soft. Do you know Toby, the HR guy from The Office? Well, I’m like that, only with girly bits. And I barely look 18 (I’m 25!). I’ve read some previous threads about this, but they were mostly about younger kids (these are 20-21).

I’m really afraid that they will run me over, that my voice will falter, that I’ll forget to tell them something important, that I won’t know the answer to a question, that I won’t be able to explain stuff clearly, and about a million other things. How can I make them care, listen, remember (at least some of them)? What do I do if they are rowdy? What if that doesn’t work? What then? I don’t have the look, never did, probably never will, so don’t go there.

It’s also my first thread, so please be gentle!

Thank you!

My first suggestion would be to over prepare. Once you’re out there teaching, just do the best you can and enjoy the experience. You’re teaching 20 year olds and your worried about classroom management? Try teaching eleven year olds! I wouldn’t be too worried about it, if you lose them they are more likely to passively wait the class out.

If you don’t know the answer, be honest about it. If you care, write the question down and get back to them later. You’ll never know it all, and no one should expect you too, but you should try to help people find their way to the correct answer.

Start with something fun, maybe a far side cartoon? A joke? A story about the day? Everyone likes storys.