Help me choose a tablet, please

A friend of mine is in need of a new tablet but I have no experience with them other than Kindles, so I need a little help from you folks.

She has some weird (to me) requirements.

1. She uses it as you would a desktop, it stays in the same place at all times.
  2. She won’t use wifi so you have to be able to plug a phone line into the tablet.
  3. She needs an actual keyboard rather than a popup touchscreen one.
  4. She needs a plug in for a regular mouse.
  5. She only uses this for email and online shopping, she will not use it for anything else.
  6. She will be fine with a 10" screen.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Sounds like she shouldn’t just be looking for a tablet but also a dock + detachable keyboard. What’s the price range?

It sounds like she needs a laptop or desktop, not a tablet. I don’t think you’ll find a tablet with a physical network jack, let alone a phone (?) jack. A chromebook might be the best option. They might be hard to find at the moment.

What’s the motivation for wanting a tablet specifically?

I didn’t notice this at first. If she’s on dial-up, there are USB options for that.

Probably $400 tops. She’s an elderly lady and all she’s used to is hand me down laptops. I don’t think she can afford a laptop and she will not allow me to pay part.

Price is the main reason for a tablet. She’s not good with change and she totally ruled out a desktop.

Given the requirements you can definitely buy a low-end laptop or chromebook (if available) for less than $400

Here is an example (not recommending this particular model, just FYI).

I should clarify that she doesn’t have dial up, she has AT&T DSL which works well enough for her needs.

This is one of the ones I looked at but I can’t tell if you can attach a mouse to it. She wants to use a plug in mouse.