Help me find some good headphones!

I am currently using subpar headphones (RCA HPNC200) after wearing out a somewhat better pair (Sony MDR-CD180). I want a set of headphones better than both of those (shouldn’t be too hard) that don’t cost much over $50 and are sealed. Buds are uncomfortable and flat headphones don’t block sound in or out. If there is such a thing as effective noise-cancellation in reasonably-priced headphones I’m all ears. (Sorry.)

So far, I’m looking at the Sennheiser HD 202 and the AKG K55 models. But it’s a huge field and I have very little experience or knowledge. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

This fellow likes to review headphones. Scroll down to about 2/3 of the way down the pages until you come to the ‘Speakers and headphones’ section…
http://www.dansdata.com/altindex.html

Thank you. They look like very good reviews.

I don’t claim to be an expert, but have logged my share of hours as a club DJ and mobile DJ. Based on my experience:

Given the choice between the AKGs and the Sennheisers, go with Sennheiser! In my experience, they’re much more durable with better sound quality. The HD202 is a decent model, as is the slightly higher-priced eH150. (The MSRP for eH150 is about $60, but you might be able to score a deal to get them in your price range. Probably worth the extra money in the long run, especially if you use your 'phones often.)

RunAmok: Thanks for the opinion. A DJ should know a good set of 'phones if anyone would. :slight_smile:

$60 isn’t really out of my range. $100 might be, unless they’re really good cans. Some I’ve seen are $260 and up, though, and they are right out. I’m flexible about price, but I do have limits.

Do you have any other recommendations? I’m not locked in to any brand or specific model, as long as they’re sealed.

Does anyone else have an opinion?