Looking for low-end audiophile headphones

By “low end audiophile” I mean something in the range of $50-$100. Dunno if that’s an accurate classification or not. I know high end audio is subject to diminishing returns ($2000 headphones are going to be less an improvement over $500 headphones than $80s will be over $20s) but I’m not sure what the value sweet-spot is where the price/performance really begins falling off.

90% of the time, they’ll be used for listening to music, watching movies, and playing games on my PC. 10% of the time, if they’re suitable, I could use them with my muvo (portable player)… but if they’re not suitable for that, no big deal, I can pick up something for them too.

I’m not too experienced in the world of speakers/headphones, but I think I want accuracy/authenticity in sound over pleasantly colored or over-bassed headphones. Circumaural (around the ear) seems like it’d be best, due to comfort, but I’d be willing to consider the on-ear type too. No interest in headbuds, just not enough comfort for the long term. Is the audioquality on open vs closed headphones that much better? I also want something with low enough impedance that I won’t have to drive them with a seperate headphone amp off my audigy 2 (which also might be getting upgraded).

Based on a few reviews, I’m starting to lean towards $80 sennheiser HD-280s, but I don’t really know. I suppose I should probably find an audio store around here that’ll let me play with different ones, but I was going to put in a newegg order tomorrow, so if I could find something that seems like a clear winner, I’ll go ahead and order it.

You can’t go wrong with the HD-280’s. If you can get them for $80, that’s a great price. There’s very little, if any, audible difference between those and the more expensive HD-300’s.

However, the HD-280’s are a fairly high impendence headphone. I drive mine with an Audigy, and they sound great, but I’ve heard they really shine with a headphone amp.