Help me make some curtains

I’m fairly experienced at garment sewing, but I’ve never done curtains before, and I’m a little nervous because this fabric is a ton more expensive than anything I’ve ever worked with before. So I’d like you guys to troubleshoot and offer suggestions on my plan.

I’ve got very large dining room windows that let in a lot of light, heat, cool, etc. I want curtains both for privacy and for climate control. In other words, they have to really open and close. There is already a curtain rod above the window. The window itself is 104 inches wide and it’s about 94 from the top of the curtain rod to the floor.

I’ve purchased fabric and lining, both about 56 inches wide including selvege. The fabric is vertically striped, so as long as I can do a straight line I don’t really have to worry about pattern matching. I can’t remember how much fabric I bought, but I think I decided to be happy with about 110ish for the total width and not add another panel, because of bulk. If I did get another panel’s worth, I’d just put all three together and cut down the middle so the seams would be even.

My plan was this. I figured I could hem the bottom edges of both the lining and the fabric and then sew the other three sides together wrong side in and just turn it inside out. That way I wouldn’t have to miter any corners or anything, right? Just make the lining a little shorter than the fabric.

My questions are these:

• What’s the best way to fasten the finished panels to the rings? I have some rings that match the rod, and they have little clips. Obviously I don’t want to just clip them to the fabric. I want a relaxed, modern-yet-classic-and-it’s-a-formal-dining-room look - not pleated, but not completely structureless either. And I want people to say, “Wow, who did your drapes?” instead of “Yeah, I used to sew too”. Should I sew rings to the back of the liner? Which leads me to:

• Should I reinforce the top somehow? With what, and how?