Help the tofu newby

I like to cook, and I’m a pretty good cook, but I’m a rather basic cook - meat and potatoes, nothing too gourmet. Once in a while I’ll impulsively buy a new ingredient and experiment.

The other day I bought an 8-ounce package of firm organic nigari tofu. I have no idea what to do with it.

My previous experiences with tofu involved whipping it up with sweet things for desserts - I made a pretty good chocolate pie with silken tofu once. Since this is presumably salted tofu (according to the package, nigari is “a natural component of sea water”) I probably can’t do that. What do you foodie dopers think? Got any good nigari tofu recipes for me?

I commonly dice it up and use it like chicken in stirfry. Or stirfry it up and use it like chicken in salads and pasta salad.

I prefer the texture of fried tofu in most stir-fries. Either dice it into cubes (3/4 -1") or cut into triangles and fry gently in a little oil until golden brown. I just think it compliments the sauces and vegetables better with a little crustiness. Then use it in stir fries as you would chicken. I think it goes well with oyster sauce or black bean sauce.

Alternatively you can use it as an easy substitute for paneer (fresh cheese cubes) in Indian curries.

“Nigari” just puts the curd in bean curd: it’s a curdling agent, not a flavoring agent. Your tofu is bland as the day it was born, trust me :).

An ex-girlfriend taught me the lazy tofu marination technique: schlep your cubed tofu in a glass bowl along with some soy sauce (tamari, preferably), some garlic, some fresh grated ginger, and red pepper flakes. Add enough water so that the tofu is just barely covered, stir it around, and microwave it for seven or eight minutes. It gets the marinade deep enough into the tofu that the flavor is there.

My favorite tofu recipe involves treating the tofu like that, boiling up some brown rice, and then:

-Drain the tofu, reserving the marinade.