Help with a new kitten

My wife and I have been talking about getting a cat for a couple of years to help with a mouse problem around the house plus I grew up with cats and wanted one for my girls. About a month ago we decided to get a Maine Coon for my 2 year old’s third birthday and reached out to 6 local breeders, we filled out questionnaires and sent multiple emails and never heard back from any of them. I grew up with mutts (or what ever the cat version is) so I wasn’t psyched about spending 3k+ on a cat and I started looking at the local shelters.

This morning I ran across a 7.5 pound 5 month old kitten with furry ears that looked like he could be a Maine Coon so we ran over to the shelter and the lady working there thought he was a Forest Cat. Once I got him back in the room he spent almost 10 seconds checking out the room before curling up in my lap. We brought the family in and he didn’t mind the girls at all and played with some toys with them and can’t 15 minutes cuddled up in my wife’s lap followed by laying with my 6 year old until it was time to take him home.

Since he was a “birthday present” for my two year old she got to name him, so his name Ducky.

I tried to drop a picture of him here but it was rejected. If you tell me how I can probably get several pictures in the coming posts.

Any how, I haven’t had a cat in 20 years and they were always family pets so I don’t know much beyond the basics. So here is me intentionally opening a cans of worms. What is the best way to deal with litter box’s preferred brands or styles of boxes or of litter? Best diet for the kitten or a different diet when he’s an adult? Any thing we should be doing or not doing?

He’s settled in after taking a lap of the house and had found his food but he hasn’t used the litter box yet.

Pics: I upload to Imgur and post a link.

Litter: We use Arm & Hammer Slide. We used to use pine litter, but A&H seems to be the most user-friendly.