Hey musicians, I gotta ask you.....

Since this is a music query, even though it feels poll-ish, I’m posting it in here. Mods, feel free to shift it over to IMHO if it’s not really a Cafe Society thread.

Musicians, if you record music at all, I have a question. I recently read a fascinating article in The New Yorker regarding live music and how the recording of live performances and the recording in studios has actually altered how classical musicians play. In some small ways granted, but then I’m not a classical musician. I live with them, though.

Are musicians aware of playing differently if they know they are being recorded? Not just in terms of putting out 100%, but in terms of the minutiae of playing your instrument? Are there techniques you bring to the fore that you never would use if you were playing alone, or with friends, or live but not for recording posterity?

Cartooniverse, who cannot carry a tune in a basket but is rather fascinated by process.

Can’t speak for classical musicians, I’m not one. I know that I play differently live than in the studio. It’s difficult to quantify.

I hate the studio because every mistake shows up when you listen to it a billion times. It’s hard to keep up the energy when it’s just you and the recorder.

Playing live, the mistakes don’t matter much, unless they’re really gross, and the energy does. And if you’ve got anything like a half-decent band and a half-decent audience the energy can be amazing.

I’m not a classical musician – I sing and play pre-war blues and country (fingerstyle guitar, slide guitar, harmonica and Dobro).

I find that if I’m being recorded, I improvise using less challenging techniques and licks than if I’m simply performing for an audience.

I find that I’m always making mistakes – I had thought about weighing in on this thread about accomplished muscians and mistakes).