Home Insurance from Storm Sandy

I need some advice. I’ll keep it short. I hired an Insurance Adjuster to represent me with State Farm Insurance. The Engineers report is well done and it itemizes damages of 300K+, more than the policy limit of 300K. State Farm’s Engineer says 23K. Isn’t this report supposed to be based on facts, and not entirely an opinion?

The insurance check barely covers the cost of the tree removal. The house is completely destroyed. What options do I have to pursue next?

Anyone work in the Insurance Industry?

Is there a Consumer Organization I can talk to?

Update: The house has been condemned. I can’t even go inside or live there anymore!

Superstorm Sandy National Disaster Legal Aid Hotline: 1-800-699-5636.

NY State Hotline specific to insurance issues: 1-800-339-1759

I work in insurance (not at State Farm) taking claims by phone. I’m not a licensed adjuster. I also do not live or work in your state. Additionally, I rarely have an opportunity to look at property claims, although I DID take several claims for Sandy because we were so busy. I’ve picked up a lot of general insurance knowledge as well, from reading adjuster notes every day for years.

Now then. In your situation, I would start by calling your State Farm adjuster. Be polite, be composed, and be firm. *Do not *lose your temper. I know it’s a stressful situation. But if you are rude, yelling, or cursing, the adjuster will hang up on you and tell you to call back when you’re calmer.