Homeopathy

Hi
I am from India where homeopathy is widely practiced and people cured as well (maybe due to placebo effect).
However I had a wart on my finger which kept on going bigger. I got it surgically removed but some small ones came up elsewhere. The GP who is a family freind as well had told me to go for a homeopath for skin and related disorders. Anyway I did goto a homeopath and my warts disappeared.

You may say it as a placebo but my dog of course does not know the word. He was given some homeopathic medicine for worms and he let out shitloads of worms!.

I am an engineer and do understand pseudo science as well, but this thing got me stumped. I think animals are a good test for non destructive type trials.

Nagendra Pratap Singh

I would appreciate it if it was automatic as I became aware of the link to article need but here it is

http://www.straightdope.com/columns/000225.html

regards

I’d like to recommend the book, The End of Magic by Ariel Glucklich (1997). He’s an anthrolologist who did research in Baranas, India, examining magical, especialy medica,l practices. His hypotheses are facinating. His ideas about cultural perceptions of the world around us leading to different epistemologies and solutions for various problems is fascinating.

If your dog shat out a load of worms I assume he was not treated by a classic homeopath, who would dillute the worm poison beyond the point of detectibility (and useability), but by one of the herbalists who have taken to calling themselves homeopaths because it’s the hip, new term and they can charge more for their services. I also assume he fed your dog one of the many natural vermifuges, like black horehound, in a large enough dose to make the worms choose to live somewhere else.