Hope for Children Act

http://www.adopteegathering.com/pressrelease.pdf

This is the press release that describes the “Hope for Children Act” which would give a $10,000 tax credit to people who adopt to help defray expenses. This is overwhelming supported on the adoption boards I’m on…despite being a proud upstanding liberal and adoptive mom, I have somewhat different feelings…

Debate, if you will

Well you make it really difficult to debate your position since you’re not letting us know what your position is. I’m no expert on adoption nor have I done much research about the subject. But from what I understand it can be an financially and emotionally draining process that can take many years. I don’t see anything wrong with a $10,000 tax break for people who adopt children. Sure beats the state caring for them until they’re 18.

Marc

I was hoping to debate the act itself, rather than my position, which is somewhat ambvilent. While adoption can be financially and emotionally draining, so can infertility, so can losing your job, so can so many things in life. For that matter, KIDS are finacially and emotionally draining.

The current adoption tax credit ends this year for healthy children or international adoptions. But it is extended indefinately for special needs children, those who the state currently takes care of. Special needs is usually defined as older, hard to place and or handicapped kids. These kids are readily available. In Minnesota, the State will pick up all adoption expenses and pick up health care costs until the child turns 18. I think this is a great idea. This act doubles the credit (to $10,000) and extends it to people adopting healthy white newborns or doing overseas adoptions (both currently covered through this year).