Houston Dopers: tell me about your city

See, I have a job interview there soon (I’m not prepared to say where yet), and i know next to nothing about the city. Sure, I can find all kinds of stuff online, but that doesn’t really tell me what it’s like.

Basically, what I’m looking for is what it would be like for a single professional who knows no one in the city to move there? How bad are rents? How bad is traffic?

But feel free to hit on any topic that comes to mind - remember I don’t know much about it, having only been there long enough to make connecting flights (and I’ve only done that twice).

Hopefully more recent Houstonites will jump in. I lived there from 1995 to 1997.

Houston was (back then) an incredibly cheap place to live. I was a teacher making nothing but I lived near The Galleria, West Main Street, and in Montrose. All really affordable places (except Galleria, we just found an average apartment complex nearby).

Traffic was, and currently, God-awful. There is now a light-rail system between downtown and the Medical Center. I used to go 610-59-10 to work, against traffic, and really didn’t have too many problems. The schlubs heading into the city, though, were stacked six lanes deep. The heat and the highways make it a real challenge, I’d say (I last drove in the city this spring).

I worked in the inner city, but the neighborhoods can change drastically in a few blocks. We used to joke about the zoning in the city - church, strip club, school, all within the same block! I think there’s new laws in effect. Downtown and the area around Post Oak are glass high-rises, but there are tons of strip malls and concrete monstrosities. There are flyovers and highway infrastructure everywhere. When I visited LA, a lot of the communities reminded me of Houston in this respect.