How Big A Jerk Could I Be As A Member Of Congress?

Here’s the hypothetical:

I somehow stumble into a full six-year term in the Senate starting in 2013 (first Congress I’d be old enough.) I decide this sounds great, especially since if I can make it all the way through my first term I get that sweet sweet pension at 62 and can stop worrying about my 401k and IRA. But I’m not interested for running for a second term because I like to actually work for a living and I figure it’d be fun to go job-hunting with my most recent job listed as US Senator, 2013-2019.

So how much of a jerk can I be without getting kicked out? Can I call the opposition idiots on the floor? Can I release lots of press statements that are well-peppered with profanity directed at the GOP and the teabaggers? Can I try emulating whatever I saw on House last week? In general, could I troll the crap out of Washington just for the lulz and still make it long enough to vest my pension?

You need only follow the rules of the Senate and not commit any overt crimes. If you became obnoxious enough they might censure you, but so what? So long as you don’t get expelled you’re good to go. Since that’s a political act rather than a criminal one your chances are good that you won’t be expelled, especially if you’re in the majority party.

There is talk in Wisconsin about recalls of the state senators, but I think a US senator can only be removed by impeachment. They can be shot too. But really, you would have to go to great lengths to be removed by any means.

Let me introduce you to Jesse Helms, who basically made a career out of doing the above (albeit from a hyper-conservative stance) for about thirty years. You’re just a dilettante in comparison.

Stranger