How big is Iraq's army now?

Back in Gulf War 1.0, they made a big deal that Iraq’s army was the 3rd largest in the world. What rank is it now?

I can’t answer your question, but I’m not sure that an official number will mean much. I am not an expert, but a lot of the army will defect. Again, I am not an expert, but don’t the generals have considerable autonomy? I mean, if they tell their troops to do this, they will listen, right?

Sorry, I shouldn’t have added this dribble.

Once again…

Not large enough.

~400,000 soldiers, most of them infantry, I think.

Does that still make them 3rd largest?

Pffft

Based on population entering military service each year (sourced from CIA World Factbook), Iraq is slightly less well off than Canada. Obviously, Iraq has a higher standing army that our bed buddies in regional air defense, but standing militaries mean little compared to most Western powers, which can blow a whistle and suddenly balloon (Gulf War 1 was about 200,000 Iraqi troops facing off against 250,000 Allied… then 300,00… then 500,000… and so on, if I recall correctly). Iraq’s troops are also less well trained and poorly armed compared to American troops, which makes a huge difference.

These numbers only reflect potential, not actual size, but you can get a idea for the likely ratios in wartime.

Canada has about 7 million individuals fit for military service, versus Iraq’s 3.5 million. Both have between 225-275,000 reaching military age each year (Iraq being the high end of that). Iraq spends 1.3 billion USD on it’s military each year to Canada’s 8 billion USD.

Doesn’t really matter, though. The United States has over 50 million military-fit citizens, has 2 million reach military age each year, and spends 276 billion USD on it’s military, which is about 33% of Canada’s GNP (Canada’s 1.3 billion is around 1.1% of it’s GNP, and America’s 276 billion is 3.1% or so).