How did ancient Greeks do mathematics?

The ancient Greeks did some amazing things with mathematics: calculating pi, making Pythagoras famous, etc.

My question is this: <font face=“arial,helvetica” color="#4040FF">What kind of numbering system did they use?</font>

I can’t imagine that they could have calculated pi using Roman Numerals.

<font size="-1">(Hmm… III . I IV I V IX II XI V III V …)</font>

At the same time, I’m pretty sure they didn’t use Arabic numerals.

So how did they do it?

Afraid to fly? Hey, I’ve been there!

EB:

This may also be relevant:

Back off, man. I’m a scientist.

Fingers & little stones, drawing in the sand.

From “A History of Mathematics” by Carl B. Boyer:

The Attic and Ionian notations have both been found in inscriptions, but the Ionian system prevailed arond the third century BC.

(Attic notation seen from 454 to 5 BC)
(Ionian notation probaby used from 5th century BC, possibly as early as 8th century BC).

The Ionian notation used an older version of the Greek alphabet with three extra letters: vau (aka digamma or stigma), koppa and sampi.

One letter was used (in alphabetical order) for 1-9, 10-90, 100-900.

e.g.
1 = alpha, 2 = beta, 3 = gamma, …, 10 = iota, …, 100 = pi

The three older letters occurred in the following position:
6 = vau, 90 = koppa, 900 = sampi

For 1000 to 9000, the first 9 letters were used again, with the letter preceded by a stroke or accent. (In this book, the stroke or accent looks somewhat like a comma.)

So for example the number 8888 would be written as
,eta omega pi eta

For numbers larger than 10000, you would write the letter M (greek myriad) with an integer symbol above or after it, separated by a dot from the the rest of the number, to indicate that the number next to the M should be multiplied by 10000.

e.g. 88888888 would be written as
M,eta omega pi eta . eta omega pi eta

Yo could apply the same principals for the double myriad, 100000000

Fractions are another topic.