How did this change in the Spanish alphabet affect software?

When I studied Spanish in middle school years ago, I was taught that CH, LL, and RR were considered distinct letters in the Spanish alphabet. Years later, when I did some internationalization work on a Java database product, I learned that each locale had its own alphabetical sort order, and that the Spanish locale treated CH, LL, and RR as distinct letters for the purposes of ordering. So, for instance, the sequence ABCHD would come after ABCD and before ABCE (because CH comes between C and D).

Someone just told me that, as of 2010, CH, LL, and RR are no longer considered letters on their own by the Real Academia Española.

First, is that true?

Second, if so, has the change been adopted by software internationalization standards?

Third, if it has, what effect did this have on software and data? For instance, if a database has an index on a Spanish character column, and the sort order changes after the index is created, wouldn’t that mean the index is in the wrong order?

This sort of change used to set off alarm bells in my head when I was a software engineer. Can someone tell me whether this really was a problem, and if so, how the development world dealt with it?

I assume they made this change specifically to conform Spanish alphabetization to the rest of Western Latin alphabetization in this modern computer / database age, at the cost of making a mess of all existing software and data?

I don’t know specifically about Spanish, but a very similar problem exists for the umlauts in German. To my knowledge, there are at least three different conventions for sorting German words that contain umlauts:

1. Converting the umlaut into the corresponding vowel followed by e (so that ä would become ae etc.) and sort accordingly;
  2. Treat the umlaut as a distinct letter sandwiched, in alphabetical order, between the corresponding vowel and the next letter (so that ä would be after a but before b);