How did you choose your career?

So, I’m a college student, and trying to pick a major/career. My whole problem is that just about EVERYTHING interests me. And I’m smart enough that I could do well in any of them. No single field interests me more than any other. I took a year off after two years of college to try and decide, and didn’t decide anything. I’ve never really been “into” anything, and advisors always just ask me “Well, what is your passion? what would you LOVE to do?” And I never know. Every job I’ve ever had, I usually have a good time at. Right now I work in fast food, and while I KNOW I DONT want to do that for the rest of my life, I have a blast working there. At the moment I’m resigned to just picking something that pays a lot of money and going for it.

So, how did all of you pick your carreer/vocation/ life path? Any helpful advice?

Well, I’m beginning my second career.

The first one, I just fell into - it was internal auditing, and at the first job I had I kept getting promoted until I ended up there. Then I kept doing it at my next job, until I was miserable.

Now I’m working on my Master’s in Library and Information Science - it’s what I wanted to do when I was a child, and it’s what I wanted to do when I finished my undergrad, but I felt like I should be out in the “real world” for a while. I still don’t know what aspect of librarianship I’m going to end up working in. Academic? Public? Corporate? Who knows - but I love what I’m learning.

Go with your passions as much as possible. The money is nice, but if you’re miserable, you won’t be happy and then you don’t enjoy the time away from the job. What classes have you liked the most? What can you see yourself doing for 5, 10, 15, 30 years? That’s the direction you should head, even if you end up elsewhere somewhere along the line.