When did you know what you wanted to be when you grew up?

I.e. the career you are in now (if you are (yet)). For me, it was rather late in life-I originally wanted to be a biologist, but frankly I have very little patience for the minutae of the field, but noticed during 1-1 conferences with my students (as a TA) that they easily got concepts that eluded them during lectures and labs. Something “clicked” with me regarding that, and I’ve been a tutor ever since (age 38). Before even the biology track tho I was all over the map (I must have had over half-a-dozen majors by age 30), but nothing ever “stuck” with me like tutoring has.

I have some kids who know very early-and it’s obvious that they’re 100% sincere and serious about it. I have a 2nd grader right now who knows that she’ll be a paleontologist (yes she used that word to tell me) A few years ago another 2nd grader told me he wanted to be a “movie star”; when I pressed him for details, it turned out he meant “special effects guy”, but didn’t know how to say that (spent a lot of spare time between lessons drawing some very stylish alien creatures).

You?

I think about it almost every day - I’m 44 and still waiting to figure it out. Meanwhile, I work as a temp because it’s relatively painless.

I wanted to be a ballerina and a figure skater when I was in grade school - neither of those has really worked out for me. :slight_smile:

I’m only doing what I’m doing because it was convenient. It was certainly never anything I would have chosen otherwise.

You’re kidding, right?

I think most of us educate ourselves in some manner and then end up where we end up.

“Yeah, I really wanted to be a Quality Assurance Representative for a Crown Corporation.”

Jeesh.