I have a very important question!!!

When did you finally figure out what you wanted to do with “The Rest of Your Life?”

AKA Am I a slow learner, or what?

I am a late bloomer too. I graduated from Cornell in 1993, and pretty much dicked around for 5 years. Decided to get my MA in English, out of lack of any better idea. I took a class with the prof who was head of the Teaching Secondary English department, and figured, what the hell? I knew I’d get into the program, and at 26, it was time to make a move. Thus, mostly by accident, I became a teacher. I got my first job at 28, and I’m sure that now, finally, I know what I’m going to Be When I Grow Up.

So I’ve got the career part figured out. The rest of my life remains up in the air…

Honestly I really haven’t reached a point where I have a career plan set for my life. I thought I did at one time but life sort of intervended then and forced me to take some time off school. Haven’t been able to get back and it might be sometime before I do. Mostly I’ve been going about the business of living and making he most I can of the life I have. At some point I probably will find some more focused vocation but until then I do what I need to to make ends meet and focus on my life outside of work.

I’m 22, uneducated, unemployed and have NO idea as to what the hell I want to or even *can * do.

I’m 16, going to college in a year and a half, and have a pretty good idea what I want to do career-wise (statistics / finance). Of course, I could wake up sometime and figure out that I’m really into platypi zoology or something, but I doubt it. Once the college applications process is over, I should have a pretty good map of activities for the next few years, which I don’t expect to eschew, only deviate minorly from (if that).