How Did You Learn Of The SDMB?

I first learned of it when I visited the on-line site for the Washington City Paper, where I used to live during law school. The City Paper had Cecil’s column in it and included it in their on-line edition.

Of course, I’ve known about the Straight Dope phenomenon for some time.

D’oh

I used to watch the TV show on whatever channel it was on, but I found the website just playing around on AOL.

The mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation.
– Henry David Thoreau

There used to be a television show? Tell me about it.

As I remember it wasn’t on that long…maybe a season?..two?..But it had a guy on tv that would read some of the questions Cecil recieved and the explaining the answere’s…the only problem I had with it was that if you’ve read his books, you knew all the questions/answere’s…I think it was TLC or Discovery channel…

I discovered the books at the bookstore. Had 2 or 3 of them before I discovered the web site. I was an internet beginner and didn’t know what a message board was so it took me about 3 months to actually go into the MB site to investigate. Didn’t think it would have anything interesting…silly me.

I’ve had the books since 1984. Well, the first book since 1984, and bought the others as they came out. I had the AOL site bookmarked, and used it as I used any other reference.

When it switched over to the web, I bookmarked it here, and was using it to procrastinate at work, and accidentally clicked on the magic rune that brought me to our marvelous little world. And I’ve been procrastinating at work here ever since.

Uke

I discovered the message board after reading TSD in the papers and reading the books. I did a search one lonesome day, and my spirits were lifted!

Don’t let the loveless ones sell you a world wrapped in grey.