How do I get old? Let me count the ways...

I now buy my ibuprofen in 500-count bottles.

I went to Old Navy not too long ago to get a new pair of jeans. I caught myself thinking “I am not paying $60 for a new pair of jeans that have more holes than the ones I’m replacing!”

I find that it’s been so long since I’ve seen certain classic movies/read certain books that it may be time to revisit them because my memory of them is becoming faint . . . very faint.

Especially if it was just yesterday. :smiley:

A couple of months ago I had a temp job working in various schools. I went to my old high school, and it dawned on me. I graduated 18 years ago, which means that seniors today were born when I graduated. That made me feel old.

When some kid on the SDMB asks you about the old days and it turns out he is talking about the 70’s and 80’s.

And I should add “Get off my lawn!”

It’ll get even better in a couple of years: kids that were born the year I graduated are, this year, becoming old enough to drink (legally). sigh

I was catching up with an acquaintance of mine who I hadn’t talked to in awhile. I’d joked offhand that I was going to start looking in the obituaries in her city. She said “what’s an obituary?” I said it was listings in the newspaper when people die. She said “I’ve never read a newspaper, so I wouldn’t know.” Ouch. FTR, she’s 15 so I don’t feel THAT old. Although… my kids are in their teens too, and now that I think of it I don’t think I’ve ever seen them read a newspaper either.

As for the OP, I had a bike wreck on my way to work and ripped some small holes in the knees of my one good pair of jeans. I was at Old Navy looking for more, and when I saw them with holes I figured I just saved $35 because holes in jeans are fashionable again yaaay!

Without thinking, I commented on how short my sister’s skirt was before she headed out for the night. My forty-something, older sister.

It’s scary hearing your mother’s voice coming out your own mouth…!