How Do They Synchronize Gears?

A guy at work once got to drive a Model A antique car. A co-worker remarked how that was before they knew how to synchronize gears (so they mesh smoothly the instant they engage). So, how do they do this?

I believe prussian blue is applied to both surfaces to see how they mesh. Once determined, they are ground accordingly to maximize surface to surface contact.

You should pm Tuckerfan. I’m pretty sure he’s a machinist by trade.

I’m confused here. Doesn’t “synchronized” mean somehow the gears are always spinning to facilitate on-the-fly shifting? [Of course, I’ve never known a multi-speed fly! :wink: ]. Even when in neutral, the selector (I think its called) remains spinning for smooth engagement? How is this done?

Oops! I’m not awake yet. I was thinking of a rear end. We have a older technician here and actually have a model T in the shop right now that he’s been working on for the owner of the dealership. As soon as my help gets here I’ll go down to his stall and ask him.

I’m pretty sure there’s not a lot of difference between a model A and T.

Synchromesh

If you don’t have a synchronised transmission, you use a technique called “double declutch”. You first shift from the gear you are in to neutral, then allow the engine speed to drop to the correct speed before changing from neutral to the next desired gear.

This is pretty much what the tech said. He said the gears aren’t synchronized at all. He also said that once you become familiar with the vehicle, ie what rpm to shift at, the clutch isn’t needed to shift gears, only to start off.

Please forgive the slight hijack… but I’ve never understood why you can’t just keep the clutch in while the rpms drop in neutral, rather than clutching in and out of neutral?

With the clutch pedal in you are spinning the throw-out bearing continuously and it’s not designed for that.