The Tigers rookie centerfielder did it yesterday.
Accidentally popped it over the charging third baseman?
Can not find it on you tube.
You gotta think that may be a one-of-a-kind for all time, first ML hit is a bunt double.
Thanks, I figured it was over a corner player.
And I am sure he is the first.
It’s not 100% verified, so far as I know. It’s the 18th bunt double in the major leagues since 1988, according to Elias Sports Bureau. I think it’s quite likely he is the first, but I wouldn’t bet the house on it.
Some of them happen when a slow roller goes up the line, and the 1st/3rd baseman waits to see if it will roll foul (until it finally hits the bag)-a Willie Wilson style speedster could end up on 2nd, at least on those nearly-extinct artificial turf fields.
And you won’t find any MLB video on youtube. They guard it quite seriously.
Would it count as a double if an infielder overthrew first base?
Or would that be an extra base due to an error?
Mariano Duncan of the Dodgers did it back in the 80s in much the same way that John DiFool described - he bunted up the third base line and took second base when the third baseman waited too long to pick it up hoping the bunt would roll foul.
Single with a throwing error, so not a double in that case.
I would think that “run real fast” figures into the equation, too.
He actually made in into second standing up, even after being interfered with and overrunning first by quite a bit. If he was tagged out at second, would he have been awarded a double or a single with second on interference?
A single, with an error charged to the offending fielder for defensive obstruction (not interference).
Doesn’t interference have to occur within the base path? He was a good 10 feet beyond first base when he headed for second. The second baseman had every right to be where he was.
I believe that “base path” is defined as where the runner is running in the natural state of things. If you overrun first on a play, and then head to second from a point 20’ past first base, the base path is the line between those two points rather than the direct line between first and second base.
Actually, after looking at the rules, it would have been “obstruction,” not “interference.” “Outside the base path” only applies when there is a tag being made or attempted.