How do you soothe a colicky baby?

My daughter is fostering to adopt a little baby girl. We are all cautiously thrilled to have this baby girl in our family. This process is an emotional roller coaster, but that’s a topic for another day.

Marie is pretty fussy. She spits up a lot and demands to be held. My daughter was the same, so I don’t find this unusual, but it’s been 30 years since I’ve had much to do with infants, so I don’t know how common this really is. If I remember correctly, what solved the problem for me was getting her (my daughter) on some solid foods at about 4 months of age. I’m no expert though, that’s for sure.

So any ideas? I’m gonna go hang out with them today and thought I could offer some advice.

Check the various types of formula; some are especially formulated for sensitive stomachs. My daughter also added small amounts of rice cereal when mixing the formula.

If she “demands” to be held, someone should hold her! You didn’t say how old Marie is, but IMHO infants are not manipulative. The current thinking is to lay babies down on their backs to sleep as it is safer. If you’ve ever had heartburn you will probably have noticed that it is worse if you lie down on your back and better if you are upright or lying on your stomach. Marie probably has less discomfort being held with her stomach against a warm caretaker and her head on their shoulder.