How has LinkedIn benefited you?

Has having a LinkedIn account paid off for you? I’m setting up an account just because everyone is and I’m sure it’s a good idea since it’s pretty prevalent. But I’d like to find out just how effective it can be.

I successfully used it to get a job 2 years ago when I was actively looking. The search results are closer to what I need geographically and professionally, and I can see my human connections to that company. And it does work both ways, sometimes I get decent offers out of the blue. Next time I’m actively looking for work, LinkedIn will be my first stop. I’m a mid-career IT professional, so YMMV.

I’ve had job opportunities come my way through it - and my resume on it isn’t even a good one. Nothing I’ve ever followed up on though.

I keep in contact with professional friends. That guy I worked with twelve years ago. Not a facebook friend, but a linked in contact.

I’ve used these people when I have professional questions, sending out a few “hey, do you know anyone who has…?” or “when is your company going to Windows 7?”

So far it hasn’t, but the last time I was at a professional development conference, a lot of other people in my field (freelance book indexing) said that they’ve had work come their way via LinkedIn. For what that’s worth. I’ve only had my profile up for about a month myself.

I’ve had a couple of job opportunities come my way. I didn’t take them, but they were leads nonetheless.

Just today I used it to contact someone I knew 15 years ago. He sent me some inside information and a possible job lead.

I’ve had it for three years, and this is the first real lead I’ve managed to get from it. It has been useful for non-job hunting communications, also.