How I explain my religious experiences (long Opening Post)

Some recent threads have seen me attempting to engage theists about why their experiences lead them to believe in God, since there appears to be a widespread assumption that if only atheists could share such experiences, they would be convinced as well. (One even goes as far as suggesting that if a team of scientists were to undergo the correct training in meditation and religious education, they would end up furnishing evidence of God which was as clear and unambiguous as the evidence they could furnish of a real, living human!)

I am a scientist (physics degree, acoustics doctorate), and as a teenager I used to be a committed Christian. During this time, I had many experiences which I describe as religious, from dramatic epiphanies during evangelical meetings to the subtle, everyday experiences which convinced me of God’s presence in my life.

Over a couple of years these convictions weakened until by university I had become an outright atheist, and would like to share how that conversion came about. Essentially, the more I learned about science, the less I attributed my experiences to an external divine source, which ultimately became unnecessary. (Not disproven, just not required in order to explain anything.)

[ul]First, how to explain the phenomena occurring during these evangelical meetings? Physicist John Wheeler said “In any field, find the strangest thing and then explore it”. The thing I found most strange was the ability of some individuals to babble away in what seemed like a foreign language, despite being acquainted with them closely enough to know that they had never travelled or received any such training. Was this ability not a clear miracle happening before my very eyes?