How important is your engineering undergrad school?

My super-smart high-school senior niece has just been accepted to Rose-Hulman, according to US New the #1 rated engineering undergrad school in the country. She’s also waiting to hear from Harvey Mudd and Venderbilt. She has a 4.25 GPA, has been taking college courses for the last two years, has some entreprenurial skills, etc. She has a reasonably decent chance of being accepted to most of the schools she’s applied at, I think. But all these undergrad programs are about $50K, with room & board tossed in. I would guess she will qualify for some scholarships, but is it really worth it to go to a top-rated undergrad program? Presumably she’ll be going on to post-grad work. WOn’t that be more important?

Her parents can probably pay for wherever she wants to go. But is it really worth spending the $$$ for the best schools?

StG

You don’t say what field specifically your niece is interested in. I’m a civil engineer about 8 years in the field. So, I can answer for what seems to matter in my field, in my region of the country.

I looked at the website for Rose-Hulme. There are eight faculty members in the civil engineering field. Environmental and water resources seems to be over-represented for a broad curriculum. If your niece is looking for civil engineering with an emphasis on water resouces or environmental engineering, it could be good.

In my experience, where you go to school doesn’t matter nearly as much as internships and co-ops. Also, while Rose-Hulme might be an excellent school, I have never heard of it. So there might be geographic areas where the name doesn’t get her anything (or I may be totally out of the loop).

One more thing - $50000 a year may result in way too much of a student loan load for a civil engineer. She would have to have great financial support, big scholarships or grants to knock down the annual cost enough to be able to pay it back on a civil engineer’s salary.