How long will it take me to ride 20 miles on a big wheel?

So I’ve been training for a triathlon for a couple of months now and I got to thinking of really strange things I could do since I know I’m not going to win. Since there’s nothing I can do strange in the swim, well except maybe dress up as a monkey or something like that, and the run is well, a run. That leaves only one part where I can just go wild.

So, I have to get an idea of how long it would take me to get on my Big Wheel and do the twenty miles. I haven’t been on one since I was a kid and don’t remember that much about how fast they can go.

So I guess I want to know:
How fast I can expect to go in an hour or so.
How dead are my legs going to be after the ride.
Can I buy one for my size, I’m 6’2" and 180lbs? (and can I get one with the hand brake?)
Do they still make those orange flags so that people see you?

Hey I’m also thinking on making a “chopper” for one as well. I saw one in a shop the other day, except I want the ape-hangers for bars.

We need to know the dimensions of the big wheel you intend to use in order to make any calculations.
Dividing the distance to travel by the circumference of the front wheel will tell you how many times it needs to turn. Then you need to know how many times on average you can turn the wheel in one minute.
Otherwise you just need to time yourself on the thing over a fixed distance.
Either way you need to get the big wheel before you an have any meaningful data.

Those things don’t have gears, and I doubt the default pedal to wheel ratio is designed for doing much more than cruising up and down the driveway. In fact, they’re probably designed so you have to pedal like crazy to get up any decent speed.

While it’s been some time since I’ve seen one up close, aren’t their wheels made of plastic, rather than rubber?