How much should I charge for French-English translation?

I’ve been contacted by a French magazine to translate part of their website into English (totaling, maybe, 150 pages of articles). I have no background in translation, so I’m wondering how much I should charge. Do I charge by the word? How much?

Sorry, I have no idea what the going rates are, and I hope some other posters can help there. But I would love to know: If you have no background in translation, how and why did that magazine contact you? What makes them think you’re the person for this job?

(I occasionally dabble in Hebrew-to-English translation, mostly for personal purposes, and would love to know how to break into the business and get paid for it.)

A French friend of mine here in Taiwan called me up the other day and said he had gotten an email on some mailing list about a magazine looking for someone to translate their site from French to English. He sent them my email address and explained that I was a writer who spoke/read fluently in French. They then contacted me. It’s still not final, as there has been no talk about $$$$ (I can’t type Euro signs).

I just got lucky. I didn’t actually do anything to find the job. Though, there are agencies that can get you jobs doing this, I assume. My girlfriend is translating a French book on child psychology into Chinese, a job which she got through an agency.

Thanx, and good luck!

I’m a translator by trade, though I don’t have my professional certification yet (it’s on its way); I charge between 16 and 19 cents CDN a word, depending on what the market will bear.

BTW, translation is a skill; it’s not just reading and writing. You may find yourself in for more than you bargained for. I started cold too, but it was a sharp learning curve, and I’ve just completed three years of professional school in translation.

Here is one data point: http://www.nvtc.gov/paychart/index.html