How much sneezing in a cat is normal?

I’m fostering a cat and her newborn kittens. The kittens are almost two days old. I’ve never had a cat before Isis, and I’ve only had her about a month, so I don’t know what’s normal. We took Isis to the vet the day after we got her and she’s clear of FLEV and FIV. I was a vet tech for about a year before we moved here (Okinawa), so I do know something about feline respiratory issues but not much about normal cat behavior.

A few days before she had the babies Isis was sneezing maybe 10 times a day or so. Not sneezing fits, just single sneezes every once in a while. No runny nose or labored breathing or eye discharge. No fever or coughing. Normal energy and food intake. She has not been out of the house or had any direct contact with other cats since I got her. In absence of anything but the occasional sneeze, and because she was sooo pregnant, I decided not to take her to the vet. I know most of these respiratory problems are viral, so there isn’t really much a vet can do about them anyway, and by taking her to the vet there was the possibility of exposing her to other sick cats (when she really didn’t appear sick–just occasional sneezing.)

So, she’s still sneezing a few times a day. Still no other symptoms–she looks great for having just given birth. She’s being an excellent mother.

The babies, too, look good. They’re eating well and don’t seem to be having any trouble breathing, no discharge from nose or eyes. Gaining weight. Quite lively when they’re fighting for a nipple. But I’ve heard a couple of them sneeze once or twice. Also, occasionally they seem to pant for 1-5 seconds. Someone mentioned to me that kittens come out of the womb trying to hiss at you, so it could be that I’m mistaking that for panting. I’m really not sure. I’ve seen them do it maybe 5 times, spread over 4 kittens and 2 days now. The temperature in the room is about 76.